

# Metafile

## Administrative Divisions

Zimbabwe is divided into 10 administrative provinces, which are further divided into 210 districts/constituencies and 1400 wards.

### Election System

In provincial councils, 10 members are elected in each province according to a list proportional representation system. 60 of the 80 sentors elected to the senate are elected by a proportional representation system. Members of National Assembly which consists of 210 seats are elected by secret ballot from the 210 constituencies. The legislated quota, implemented adopted in May 2013 changed the amount of seats. The details regarding the change follow in the next section.

The last general election took place on the 31 July 2013 (IPU, 2016).

#### Women's Representation & Quota Information

Zimbabwe has legislated quotas at the national and sub-national level which are written into the Constitution (Quota Project, 2014). Voluntary political party quotas have also been adopted.

The new Constitution adopted in May 2013 makes the following provision for seat reservation: "The National Assembly consists of 210 members elected by secret ballot from the 210 constituencies into which Zimbabwe is divided and for the life of the first two Parliaments after the effective date, additional sixty women members, six from each of the provinces into which Zimbabwe is divided, elected through a system of proportional representation based on the votes cast for candidates representing political parties in a general election for constituency members in the provinces" (Constitution, 2013, Part 4, Article 124). The second national quota stipulates that out of the 80 senators, 60 are elected by proportional representation in which female and male candidates shall be listed alternatively and every list will be headed by a female candidate.

The quota at the sub-national level is a legislated candidate quota which states that in provincial council elections female and male candidate must be listed alternatively and each list must begin with a female candidate.

The Zimbabwe African National Union Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF) is committed to ensuring at least a third of all candidates are female (Quota Project, 2017). However, according to Quota Project (2014) this quota has not been applied consistently. The Movement for Democratic Change -Tsvangirai (MDC-T) will work toward the equal representation of women as far as possible in public offices and within the Party (Constitution of MDC 3.3k).

#### Seats & Trends in Seat Numbers

Following the March 2008 general elections, women held 32 of the 210 (15.24%) seats in the National Assembly, and 23 of 93 (24.73%) seats in the Senate. At the local level, women held 256 of the 1394 (18.36%) positions following the March 2008 elections. This number decreased to 16.31% following the July 2013 elections.

#### References

ZIMBABWE Senate. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://www.ipu.org/parline-e/reports/2383\_ B.htm. [2017, January 24].

ZIMBABWE National Assembly: LAST ELECTIONS. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://www.ipu. org/parline-e/reports/2361\_E.htm. [2017, January 24].

Zimbabwe. 2014. [Online]. Available: http://www.quotaproject.org/country/zimbabwe. html. [2017, January 24].

Zimbabwe. 2013. Constitution of Zimbabwe Amendment (no.20) Act, 2013.



Bicameral

http://www.zec.gov.zw
Parliamentary Structure

Election System Presidential: FPTP National: FPTP | List PR (Quota) Senate: List PR (Hare Quota) Provincial: List PR