

Zambia

Electoral Website www.elections.org.zm

Parliamentary Structure Unicameral

> Election System Presidential: FPTP Parliamentary: FPTP Local: FPTP

Female Political Participation in Sub-Saharan Africa

Metafile

Administrative Divisions

Zambia is divided into 10 provinces which are further divided into districts. The Ministry of Local Government and Housing are responsible for overseeing the local administrative structures. There is one level of local government which is made up of 4 city councils, 15 municipal councils and 84 district councils (CLGF, 2016). Before 2013 Zambia was sub-divided into a total of 72 districts however since 2010 the total number of districts increased to 103. The constitution makes provision for local government. City councils are typically located in urban districts which have a higher population density. Municipal councils oversee the suburban areas and district councils are located in rural areas with a lower population density. All councils have the same legal mandates and authority.

Election System

Zambia utilises a tripartite election system which implies that the president, parliamentary members and local councillors are all elected on the same day. The country is a multi-party democracy which has used a First-Past-the-Post (FPTP) election system since its independence in 1964. Councillors for over 1400 wards are directly elected and can either be sponsored by political parties or contest as independent candidates. Zambia is divided into roughly equal constituencies from which only one representative is chosen to sit in parliament. The number of constituencies shall be equal to the number of seats of elected members in the National Assembly. The number of constituencies is dependent on factors such as population density, history, cohesiveness of the constituency or ward.

Women's Representation & Quota Information

Zambia does not have legislated gender quotas for women at the national or local level (EISA, 2008). There are also no voluntary party quotas.

Seats & Trends in Seat Numbers

Zambia's National Assembly is comprised of 150 members of parliament elected by universal suffrage for five-year terms. The President has the discretion to nominate an additional 8 members as provincial governors.

Women represented 14.56% (23 of the available 158) seats in the National Assembly following the September 2006 elections. Female representation then decreased to 12.66% (20 of the 158 available seats) following the September 2011 elections. Following the 2011 election, women constituted 82 of the 1374 (5.97%) available positions at the local level.

References

Local government system in Zambia. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://www.clgf.org.uk/default/assets/File/Country_profiles/Zambia.pdf. html. [2016, December 21].

Zambia: Women's representation quotas. 2008. [Online]. Available: https://www.eisa.org.za/wep/zamquotas.htm. html. [2016, December 21].