

Republic of Sierra Leone Electoral Commission Website http://necsl.org

> Parliamentary Structure Unicameral

> > Election System
> > National: FPTP
> > Local: FPTP

# Female Political Participation in Sub-Saharan Africa

## Metafile

#### Administrative Divisions

Sierra Leone is divided into 3 provinces and a Western Area where the capital Freetown is situated. The country is further divided into districts and Chiefdoms which are made up of local government areas. The country has three tiers of government which includes central government, local councils and chiefdom councils (CLGF, 2016). There are 19 local government councils which operate under a single-tier system. The local administrative structures are made up of 5 city councils, 1 municipal council and 13 district councils (CLGF, 2016). The city and municipal councils are situated in urban areas whereas the district councils are generally located in rural areas. The constitution does not make provision for local government. There also 149 Chiefdoms in the provinces which constitutes the traditional branch of local government. The administrative structure of a Chiefdom is a section made up of towns or villages headed by a section Chief or sub-Chief.

#### **Election System**

Local council elections are carried out under a first-past-the-post election system. Mayors or Chairpersons are elected by universal adult suffrage across the local council area and councillors are elected on a ward basis (CLGF, 2016). Furthermore, councillors are elected on a single-member-per-ward basis in the 13 district councils which are made up of between 18 and 34 wards. The Freetown City Council has 49 wards and the remaining city and municipal councils have multi-member wards. In Chiefdoms the paramount Chief has jurisdiction over the sections in the Chiefdom and is elected by the councillors of the Chiefdom. 12 paramount chiefs are indirectly elected to represent 12 districts.

The last national and local elections were held in November 2012.

### Women's Representation & Quota Information

Sierra Leone does not have legislated gender quotas at the national level however there are gender quotas at the sub-national level (Quota Project, 2014). Electoral law makes provision for seat reservation and stipulates that Ward Development Committees elected at town meetings should comprise of 5 women out of 10. Legal sanctions are not implemented in the event of non-compliance. Lastly, voluntary party quotas have not been put forward by any political parties.

### **Seats & Trends in Seat Numbers**

The Parliament of Sierra Leone currently consists of 124 members. Following the August 2007 elections, women held 16 of these seats, representing 12.9% of Parliament. Following the November 2012 elections women constituted only 12.4% of Parliament. Following the November 2012 general election, women held 69 of 396 (17,42%) positions in local government.

### References

The local government system in Sierra Leone. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://www.clgf.org.uk/default/assets/File/Country\_profiles/Sierra\_Leone.pdf. html. [2016, January 22].

Sierra Leone. 2014. [Online]. Available: http://www.quotaproject.org/country/sierra-leone. html. [2016, January 22].