

**Republic of Mozambique** Electoral Commission Website

> Parliamentary Structure Unicameral

Electoral System Assembly: List PR (d'Hondt) Local: List PR (d'Hondt)

# Female Political Participation in Sub-Saharan Africa

# Metafile

#### Administrative Divisions

Mozambique is split into 10 provinces and 1 capital city, Maputo City which make up 11 administrative constituencies. The 10 provinces are divided into 158 districts and 413 administrative posts, localities and groups of villages known as "povoacoes" (CLGF, 2016). The constitution makes provision for local government however the municipalities laws establish municipalities in every city and only 20 of 128 towns. There are 33 cities in total which makes up a total of 53 municipalities. There are two types of local administrative authorities which include municipalities which govern cities as well as town and village councils in non-urban areas.

#### **Election System**

Municipalities comprise of two bodies namely the municipal assembly and the muncipal council, the former acts as a legislature and the latter holds executive powers. Members of the municipal assembly are elected according to the d'Hondt system of Proportional Representation for a term of five years (CLGF, 2016). Municipal assembly voting is held on the basis of city and town wide party lists. Once members are elected a speaker or president of the assembly is elected by the members elected by voters. The mayor or president of the muncipal council is elected directly and serves a term of 5 years. More than 50% of the vote must be secured. In the event that there is not a candidate that meets the requirement, a second election is contested between the top two candidates within 30 days of the results being published.

The Assembly of the Republic of Mozambique is elected through a d'Hondt list proportional representation election system (IPU, 2016).

The last national elections took place in October 2014 and the last local elections took place in August 2013.

#### Women's Representation & Quota Information

The country does not have legislated gender quotas at the national or sub-national level (Quota Project, 2011). The Front for the Liberation of Mozambique (FRELIMO) has had a voluntary party quota since 1994 which stipulates that 40% of the candidates to national assembly and local government must be women.

### **Seats & Trends in Seat Numbers**

Mozambique has a unicameral legislature, namely the Assembly of the Republic. It currently consists of 250 members who are elected through a system of party-list proportional representation for 5 year terms.

Following the October 2009 election, women represented 39.2% (98/250 seats) of the Assembly of the Republic. This increased to 39.60% (99/250) seats in October 2014's elections. At the local level, women won 484 of the 1216 available positions following the August 2013 local elections.

## References

Local government system in Mozambique. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://www.clgf.org.uk/default/assets/File/Country\_profiles/Mozambique.pdf. html. [2016, December 13].

Mozambique. 2011. [Online]. Available: http://www.quotaproject.org/country/mozambique. html. [2016, December 16].

MOZAMBIQUE (Assembly of the Republic). 2016. Available: http://www.ipu.org/parline-e/reports/2223\_B.htm. [2017, January 28].