

Republic of Kenya Electoral Commission Website http://www.iebc.or.ke

Parliamentary Structure
Bicameral

Election System National: FPTP Senate: FPTP County: FPTP

# Female Political Participation in Sub-Saharan Africa

## Metafile

#### Administrative Divisions

Kenya has three tiers of government: national, county and urban. County government and urban councils constitute local government. Provision is made in the constitution for county government and urban councils under the County Governments Act 2012 and the Urban Areas and Cities Act 2011 respectively (CLGF, 2016). There are 47 county governments which are responsible for overseeing 1 city, 2 municipalities and 103 towns according to the county in which the local government structure is situated.

#### **Election System**

Kenya uses a first past the post election system in national and county elections. County government elections are held at the same time as Presidential and National Assembly elections (CLGF, 2016).

County government is made up of an assembly and an executive (CLGF, 2016). The assembly comprises of a member elected by voters from each ward, a number of special seats nominated by political parties to ensure that women or men make up at least one third of the assembly and members of marginalised groups which includes people with disabilities and youth. The members which constitute the last group are nominated by political parties and a speaker. The county executive is made up of the county governor, deputy governor and members appointed by the county governor after approval of the assembly sub-counties.

The last national and county government elections were held in March, 2013.

#### Women's Representation & Quota Information

Kenya has legislative quotas for female representation in national and sub-national government (Quota Project, 2014). Furthermore, voluntary party quotas have also been adopted by political parties. On the national level the quota is enshrined in the constitution and stipulates seat reservation. The quota requires that no more than two-thirds of the members of elective or appointed bodies in the national assembly shall be of the same gender. Legal sanctions for non-compliance is stipulated in the Political Parties Act of 2011 and states that a party is not eligible for public funding in the event that more than two-thirds of elected officials are of the same gender. The Upper House also has a quota which is written into Electoral Law and states that 16 seats are allocated to women members nominated by political parties according to the proportion of seats won in the Senate. Legal sanctions for non-compliance are the same as the quota for national assembly. On the sub-national level the Consitution requires that no more than two-thirds of the membership of the county assembly be of the same gender.

There are 3 voluntary political party quotas. The Democratic Party (DP) reserves one third of all seats for women. The SASFINA Party states in their Election Rules and Procedures that at least one-third of all elected officials in the branch or national level should be either male or female. The National Rainbow Coalition (NARC) has a gender policy that one-third of all nominated persons should be male or female.

### **Seats & Trends in Seat Numbers**

Following the 2007 General elections, women made up 21 of the 224 (9.38%) available seats in the lower house. The 2013 elections, following the implementation of the new constitution, saw 67 of the available 350 (19.37%) seats in the lower house going to women. Women also comprised 18 of the 68 (26.4%) seats in the Senate.

Following the local elections in 2013, women comprise 778 out of 2241 (34.72%) recorded positions at the local level.



Republic of Kenya Electoral Commission Website http://www.iebc.or.ke

> Parliamentary Structure Bicameral

> > Election System National: FPTP Senate: FPTP County: FPTP

#### References

The local government system in Kenya. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://www.clgf.org.uk/default/assets/File/Country\_profiles/Kenya.pdf. [2016, December 29].

Kenya. 2014. [Online]. Available: http://www.quotaproject.org/country/kenya. html. [2016, December 16].

Laws of Kenya. 2010. The Constitution of Kenya.

Laws of Kenya. 2011. THE ELECTIONS ACT No. 24 of 2011. [Online]. Available: http://www.kenyalaw.org/kl/fileadmin/pdfdownloads/Acts/ElectionsAct\_No24of\_2011\_New.pdf. [2017, January 27].

Laws of Kenya. 2011. THE POLITICAL PARTIES ACT, 2011 NO. 11 OF 2011. [Online]. Available: http://www.kenyalaw.org/kl/fileadmin/pdfdownloads/Acts/PoliticalPartiesAct.pdf. [2017, January 27].