

Republic of Ghana Electoral Commission Website http://www.ec.gov.gh

> Parliamentary Structure Unicameral

> > Election System Parliament: FPTP Local: FPTP

Female Political Participation in Sub-Saharan Africa

Metafile

Administrative Divisions

The Republic of Ghana is divided into 10 administrative regions which are further divided 212 districts consisting of 6 metropolitan assemblies, 55 municipal assemblies and 151 ordinary assemblies. Districts are divided into town or area councils (58), zonal councils (108) and area councils (626).

Election System

Ghana has a unicameral parliament, members are elected directly through a first past the post election system. A direct simple majority system is used. The President is elected by all Members of Parliament (IPU, 2016). Local assembly elections are held using a first past the post election system.

The last national elections were held in December 2016 and the last local elections were held in September 2015.

Women's Representation & Quota Information

Ghana does not have legislated gender quotas in national or sub-national government (Quota Project, 2013). Futhermore, voluntary quotas have not been adopted by any political parties.

Seats & Trends in Seat Numbers

Following the December 2008 general elections, women won 18 of the 230 (7.83%) seats in Parliament. This number increased to 30 of the 275 (10.91%) seats in Parliament following the December 2012 elections. Following the September 2015 District Assembly elections, women won 252 of the 5409 (4.66%) positions at the local level.

References

Ghana. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://www.clgf.org.uk/regions/clgf-west-africa/ghana/. html. [2017, January 28].

Ghana. 2013. [Online]. Available: http://www.quotaproject.org/country/ghana. html. [2017, January 28].

GHANA: Parliament. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://www.ipu.org/parline-e/reports/2123_C.htm. [2017, January 28].