

### **Union of the Comoros**

Parliamentary Structure Unicameral

Electoral System Presidential: Majority (TRS) Assembly of Union: Majority (TRS)

Municipal: FPTP

# Female Political Participation in Sub-Saharan Africa

## Metafile

#### **Administrative Divisions**

Comoros is divided into 3 islands: Anjouan (Ndzuwani), Grande Comore and Moheli (Mwali). Local government is made up of 54 municipal councils.

## **Election System**

The Constitution of the Comoros makes provision for a unicameral union Assembly of 33 members which are elected for a term of five years (United Nations, 2004). 24 members are directly elected in single member constituencies using a two-round majority vote. The remaining 9 members are indirectly elected by the Island Assemblies which is split into 3 seats per island (IPU, 2016).

The President is elected by absolute majority and the Presidency is rotated between the three islands every four-years when the President's term ends. A first round election is held on the island of the next Presidency where the top three candidates progress to the second round election which is held on a nationwide basis.

A list proportional representation system is used to elect members of local government.

## Women's Representation & Quota Information

There are no leglislated gender quotas in the Comoros (Election Guide, 2017).

#### **Seats & Trends in Seat Numbers**

In the December 2009 elections, 1 woman was elected into the Assembly of 33 members (3.03%). This remained constant after the January 2015 elections. Following the February 2015 legislative election, women held 278 of 1003 (27.72%) positions at the local level.

# References

Comoros. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://www.ipu.org/parline-e/reports/2069\_B.htm. [2017, January 25].

Union of the Comoros: Public Administration Country Profile. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://unpan1.un.org/intradoc/groups/public/documents/un/unpan023259.pdf. [2017, January 25].

Union of the Comoros. 2017. [Online]. Available: http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/2891/. [2017, January 27].