

Republic of Burundi

Electoral Commission Website http://www.ceniburundi.bi

Parliamentary Structure Bicameral

Election System

Presidential: Direct National: PR Senate: Indirectly Local:

Female Political Participation in Sub-Saharan Africa

Metafile

Administrative Divisions

Burundi is divided into 17 provinces which are further divided into 117 communes (municipalities).

Election System

Members of Parliament are elected according to a proportional representation closed multi-ethnic party list system (EISA, 2010). The President is elected directly by universal suffrage with an absolute majority for a term of five years.

Women's Representation & Quota Information

Seats & Trends in Seat Numbers

References

South Africa. 2016. [Online]. Available: http://www.quotaproject.org/country/south-africa. html. [2016, December 16].